2019 Symposium programme!

'Legacies of Resistance, Responding to Oppression: 
Changing Dynamics in LGBTQ+ Music Activism and Scholarship'
at University of Southampton UK (April 26-27, 2019)

Find out more here

Our Mission

The LGBTQ+ Study Group was established in 2016 with the support of professional bodies throughout the UK and Ireland, including the Royal Musical Association (RMA), the British Forum for Ethnomusicology (BFE), the Society for Musicology in Ireland (SMI), and the UK & Ireland branch of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music (IASPM). The Group’s mission is to promote academic inquiry into issues of gender and sexuality in the study of music, and to support scholars who research such issues across disciplinary and national boundaries. We seek to maintain an inclusive space for learning, exploration and discussion in which diversity is welcomed and celebrated; membership is not restricted to those who identify in relation to LGBTQ. Recognizing intersections of race, ethnicity, class, caste, age and ability, the Group aims to create an active researcher network that encourages critical thinking, academic publications, musical performance, political engagement, outreach and inreach projects and activist interventions while serving as a safe space and system of support for all members. It also serves as a consulting body for wider issues of diversity and inclusion within music research, education and performance. Through symposia, regular reading group meetings, online networks and an active presence at international conferences, we seek to advance academic and public understanding of issues including but not limited to those surrounding gender, sexuality, queer theory and feminism in the study of music.

Thomas Hilder (he/him) – Chair (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)

Danielle Sofer (she/her/they/them) – Deputy Chair & Treasurer

Robert Crowe (he/him) – Performance Officer

Marie Bennett (she/her) – Event Liaison Officer (University of Winchester)

Peadar Connolly-Davey (he/they) – Website and Communication Officer (SOAS, University of London)

Flo Toch (they/them) – Website and Communication Officer (Leeds College of Music)

David Bretherton (he/him) – Symposium Organiser 2018-2019 (University of Southampton)

Shzr Ee Tan (she/her) – Senior Advisory Officer (Royal Holloway, University of London)

Jam Orrell (she/her) (Royal Academy of Music)

George Haggett (he/him) (Oxford University)

Rachel Cowgill (she/her) – Chair of RMA LGBTQ+ Study Group

Richard Witts – Senior Advisory Officer (Edge Hill University)

Freya Jarman (she/her) – Senior Advisory Officer (University of Liverpool)




Visit our sister organisations, the ICTM Study Group on Music and Gender, the LGBTQ Study Group of the American Musicological Society and the Queer Resource Group of the Society for Music Theory.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s